Tags

,

Marie Osmond, the wholesome entertainer who once sang about being a little bit country, has come out whole lot in favor of marriage equality. The singer has taken the stance to support her daughter Jessica Blosil, who came out to her as a lesbian at age 17.

“The God that I believe in is a god of love, not fear,” Osmond, who was raised Mormon in along with her eight famous brothers, tells ABC’s Diane Sawyer. “I don’t tell my children if you’re not good you’re going to Hell. I tell my children that God will be there for them when they struggle. That’s the God I believe in…I believe in [Jessica’s] civil rights, as a mother.

The singer, whose memoir The Key is Love will be published Tuesday, tells ABC’s Diane Sawyer about the day her now-22 year-old daughter came out to her while still a teen. “My heart broke for her,” Osmond recalls. “I think it’s easier now, but not as a 17-year-old child.

“I think my daughter deserves everything that she desires in life,” Osmond adds. “She’s a good girl. She’s a wonderful child. I don’t think God made one color flower. I think he made many…”

Perhaps less surprising is news that Marie’s opinion is in sharp contrast to some other, more traditional members of her large Mormon family. Osmond’s oldest brother Alan and his wife Suzanne, took time away from entertaining Branson, Missouri tourists, to host an anti-marriage equality rally in Salt Lake City, Utah last Tuesday.

In a week with marriage equality again dominating the national headlines and even Rush Limbaugh conceding, Marie’s commendable support inspired Sawyer to name her ABC’s Person of the Week. We agree. Your move, Donny.